Select Page

Mumbai: 2013 has been Deepika Padukone’s year and on Tuesday, the actress proved to her critics wrong by taking home two Best Actress trophies- Jury and Popular for her role in ‘Goliyon Ki Rasleel Ram Leela’ and ‘Chennai Express’. While recieving the Jury award, a visibly shocked Padukone said, ” I didn’t expect this award.”

The Best Actor (Jury) went to Farhan Akhtar for his role in ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’. The actor came to the event with his wife Adhuna and was seated next to his father Javed Akhtar and Shabana Azmi. ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’ also won the Best Film award for its brilliant portrayal of athelete Milkha Singh’s life. Meanwhile the badshah of Bollywood, Shah Rukh Khan was awarded the Best Actor (Popular) for his role in ‘Chennai Express’. The charming star thanked his kids for being his inspiration while accepting the award from actress Rekha.

Screen Awards kickstarted the award season with its annual event in Mumbai on Tuesday night. The big winner of the night was John Abraham’s ‘Madras Cafe’ which fetched four awards including the Best Director trophy for its director Shoojit Sircar. Experimental, off beat films like ‘Ship Of Theseus’ and ‘The Lunchbox’ rubbed shoulder with commercial films like ‘Chennai Express’ and ‘Aashiqui 2’ in the winners list. While ‘The Lunchbox’ director Ritesh Batra was given the Best Director (Debut ) award, Anand Gandhi’s film got a special award.


Here is the full list of winners:

Best Actor (Jury Award)

Farhan Akhtar for Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Actor (Popular)

Shah Rukh Khan for Chennai Express

Best Actress (Popular)

Deepika Padukone for RamLeela and Chennai Express

Best Actress (Jury Award)

Deepika Padukone for Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-

Leela and Chennai Express

Best Director Award

Shoojit Sircar

Best Film

Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Lifetime Achievement Award

Amitabh Bachchan

Ramnath Goenka Memorial Award

Madras Cafe

Best VFX Award

Red Chillies Entertainment for Krrish 3

Best Dialogues

Sameer Gautam Singh for Shahid

Best Screenplay


Best Story

Mohan Sikka for B.A Pass

Best Ensemble Cast

Sanjay Tripathi for Club 60

Best singer (Male)

Arijit Singh for Tum Hi Ho (Aashiqui 2)

Best Playback Singer (Female)

Shreya Ghoshal for Sunn Raha Hai Na, Aashiqui 2

Best Music

Pritam for Yeh Jawaani Hain Deewani

Life Ok Screen Hero Award

Deepika Padukone

Best Supporting Actor (Male)

Saurabh Shukla for Jolly LLB

Best Supporting Actor(Female)

Swara Bhaskar for Raanjhanaa

Best comic Male/Female

Bholi Punjaban Richa Chadda for Fukrey

Best Actor in Negative Role

Rishi Kapoor

Best child artiste

Japtej Singh

Best Action

Manohar Verma for Madras Cafe

Most promising debut director:

Ritesh Batra for Lunchbox

Most Promising Newcomer Male

Sushant Singh Rajput for Kai Po Che

Special jury’s award

Ship of Theseus

Most Promising Newcomer Female

Aida Ei Kashef for Ship Of Theseus

Best costume

Anju Modi, Maxima Basu, Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela

Best Production Design

Wasiq Khan, Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela

Best Editing

Deepa Bhatia for Kai Po Che

Best Cinematography

S. Ravi Varman for Goliyon Ki Rasleela Ram-Leela

Best Choreographer

Remo D’Souza, Badtameez Dil, Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani

Best Background Score

Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Best Film Marketing

Chennai Express

Best Actor (Marathi)

Sachin Khedekar, Aajacha Divas Majha

Best Actress (Marathi)


Best Director (Marathi)

Ravi Jadav, Balak Palak

Best Film (Marathi)

Balak Palak and Duniyadari